League of Legends: Patch 9.24 top lane tier list is ruled by Mordekaiser

League of Legends. Photo courtesy of Riot Games.
League of Legends. Photo courtesy of Riot Games. /
2 of 2
League of Legends.
League of Legends. Courtesy of Riot Games. /

Buffed Champions


We expected for the changes to Diana to be a bigger deal with her in the jungle and mid lanes, but they unexpectedly also brought her into the top lane. She’s actually picked a fairly decent amount compared to her other roles (a role pick rate of 11.6%) and has a decent win rate (49.1%). She’s only in the D tier for now, but I think it could just be that not enough people have caught onto how strong she is.

Nerfed Champions


After the nerf to the hitbox on her Q – Five Point Strike, Akali dipped slightly in our top lane tier list. She did end up dropping out of the A tier to the B tier in Patch 9.24. It’s surprising to see her rated so highly by sites around the internet when her win rate (46.5%) is second-worst ahead of only Sylas.


Riot noted that Garen was getting nerfed because of how well he synergized with the new Conqueror rune, but he was honestly in a really strong spot well before those preseason changes. He took a nerf to his E – Judgment (both on the number of spins and damage per spin) that hit his win rate quite hard. As noted above, he dropped a full tier (the biggest decrease in rating from last patch to this one) and his win rate fell by over 3%.


Finally, there’s Ryze who was also benefitting heavily from the new Conqueror. However, the nerf to his Q – Overload in Patch 9.24 was basically negligible compared to Garen, as Ryze remains in the low-B tier. However, his win rate did also drop by over 3% to 46.8%, which is third-worst for top laners.

Next. Is Thresh the best-designed support?. dark

Methodology: These rankings were determined by finding the average standardized score of a champion from six different tier lists from sites around the internet. This is done by assigning a certain weight to each different score, rank, or grade given by these sites (for instance, both a “Diamond” rating and “A” grade would be worth a 90 score). The standardized score is then determined by looking at the average score given to all champions in every role by that site as well as the standard deviation of scores given (so that sites that give out more high grades will not have their As be worth the same as a site that gives out very few high grades).

The full, underlying data can be found here. This link also includes the full listing of how the scores are assigned. Champions must be rated by at least half of the sites audited in order to qualify for our tier list.