TFT Guide: An Updated Guide to Slow Roll in Set 4

Teamfight Tactics. Photo Courtesy of Riot Games.
Teamfight Tactics. Photo Courtesy of Riot Games. /
1 of 3
Aphelios, League of Legends.
League of Legends. Photo courtesy of Riot Games. /

We are providing an update to our TFT guide about the slow roll leveling strategy here in Set 4.

Back in Set 3, I did a breakdown of the leveling strategy that took over Teamfight Tactics along with hyper rolling and Fast 8. The art of the slow roll has become a staple that just about every TFT player needs to have in their arsenal. With Set 4 bringing some changes to gold (removing the Galaxy mechanic which means less gold), experience, and the champion pool odds, it’s high time we updated our TFT guide to slow rolling.

More from Blog of Legends

In this update to our slow roll TFT guide, I’ll be breaking down why slow rolling has changed from Set 3, when you should look to slow roll, and the specific income and level breakpoints to watch out for. Keep in mind that, the same basic principles from the original TFT guide still hold, but the details and tactics to be used will be different. First, the changes that have re-shaped how slow rolling in TFT works.

In the first patch of Set 4, Riot introduced a number of changes to Teamfight Tactics, including the new Chosen mechanic and all the new units with TFT: Fates. Two changes, however, went unnoticed but re-shaped the leveling strategy.

First, Riot increased the experience needed to hit Levels 7 (32XP to 36XP), 8 (50XP to 56XP), and 9 (66XP to 80XP). This effectively meant that players would need 24 extra experience to hit Level 9 in a game, thus making it less likely that players would hit those higher levels as consistently as they did in Set 3. This, in turn, incentivizes players to play for the early game and level their 1, 2, and 3-cost units rather than spending to level and hit the higher-cost units.

Compounding on this, Riot’s second change was to change the shop mechanics at Levels 5, 6, and 7. At Level 5, players are 5% more likely to find 1-cost units and 5% less likely to find 2-cost. At Level 6, it’s again 5% more likely to find 1-cost units, but now the odds for 2-cost units are the same as Set 3 while it’s 5% less likely to find 3-costs. Finally, at Level 7 it’s 5% more likely to find 2-cost units, 5% less likely to find 3-cost units, and all other units are at the same probability in Set 4 as they were before.