Worlds 2020: Where, When, and How to Watch the Quarterfinals

The quarterfinals round of Worlds 2020 begins this Thursday.

The group stage of Worlds 2020 has concluded, paring the number of remaining teams to only eight. Those eight teams have been drawn into four head-to-head matchups in the first round of the bracket knockout stage. Each team will face one opponent in the quarterfinals round of Worlds in a best-of-five-game series, with the winner advancing to the semifinal round.

The draws have already been done and the matchups decided, with the #1 seeds from each of the four groups facing off against a #2 seed from a different group. The games will start later this week so if you want to make sure your sleep schedule is set to watch the action, we have the full schedule to help you out!

Where to Watch

Lolesports: https://lolesports.com/

Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/riotgames

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/lolesports/

Schedule

Broadcast Begins (all days): 6:00 EDT / 3:00 PDT / 11:00 BST / 12:00 CEST

Match 1 (10/15)

Damwon vs. DRX

Match 2 (10/16)

Suning vs. JD Gaming

Match 3 (10/17)

Top Esports vs. Fnatic

Match 4 (10/18)

Gen.G vs. G2 Esports

Predictions

In the first match-up of the quarterfinals, we get a rematch of the LCK finals as Damwon takes on DRX. When these two teams met back in early September, Damwon wiped the floor with DRX, sweeping them in three games. I wouldn’t expect the outcome to change given what we’ve seen at Worlds so far.

Damwon wins 3-0

For the second match, we have a good old fashioned LPL grudge match between China’s #2 and #3 seeds. These teams actually did not play each other in the Summer Playoffs or Regional Finals, but in the regular season JDG beat Suning 2-0. Although Suning are the favored team, I think JDG will end up pulling out the victory.

JD Gaming wins 3-1

I think it’s going to be a rather easy win for Top Esports. They were one of the favorites entering the tournament and they handled Group D with relative ease, losing only a single game to FlyQuest. On the other hand, Fnatic split their series with both Gen.G and LGD, which makes me think they might be vulnerable to a better Chinese team.

Top Esports wins 3-1

Next: Rating and Ranking the Best ADC Players at Worlds

Finally, we have Gen.G vs. G2 Esports in what I think will be the most competitive series of the quarterfinals. Both teams have shown considerable strength and have plenty of Worlds experience throughout their roster, but have stumbled during the group stage. I think this series goes to five games and either team could easily win.

Gen.G wins 3-2