League of Legends: The Official Champion Difficulty Tier List

League of Legends. Photo Courtesy of Riot Games.
League of Legends. Photo Courtesy of Riot Games. /

We’re creating the ultimate tier list of League of Legends champions, sorting them by difficulty.

One of the biggest decisions a player can make when entering champion select in League of Legends is which champion to pick. For new players, looking at all 152 champions can be daunting, especially with not knowing which champions are the most “noob-friendly.” As a result, our latest tier list will be breaking down every single champion in League of Legends grouping them by difficulty.

Rather than doing a tier list that is straight easy/medium/hard, we’re going to break champions into several classifications based on a number of factors. Champions will be grouped by 1) mechanical difficulty of executing their kit 2) how forgiving they can be even if you are not doing well in a game 3) how long it takes the typical player to master the champion and 4) how unique their playstyle is within League of Legends.

As a result, this tier list will run a difficulty range from “Beginner” to “Advanced.” We will also include a brief description of how we’re grouping the champions in each tier, as well as recommended elos for optimal success of these champions.

Tier 1: Beginner

Description: Mechanically simple champions with a linear or well-defined playstyle. Forgiving kits that can teach new players skills that will translate to other champions.

Recommended elos: Silver and below. Also can be effective in Gold, Platinum, and low Diamond.

More from Blog of Legends


  • Amumu
  • Annie
  • Ashe
  • Cho’Gath
  • Dr. Mundo
  • Garen
  • Janna
  • Jinx
  • Malphite
  • Malzahar
  • Maokai
  • Nasus
  • Nautilus
  • Nocturne
  • Nunu & Willump
  • Olaf
  • Rammus
  • Shyvana
  • Sivir
  • Skarner
  • Soraka
  • Teemo
  • Tristana
  • Trundle
  • Udyr

Tier 2: Novice

Description: Mechanically simple champions, usually with a well-defined playstyle that may not be quite so linear. Kits tend to be a bit less forgiving if players fall behind but also tend to be translatable to similar champions.

Recommended elos: Gold and below. Also can be effective in Platinum, Diamond, and situationally in Grandmaster and above.


  • Alistar
  • Blitzcrank
  • Brand
  • Braum
  • Darius
  • Diana
  • Galio
  • Hecarim
  • Jarvan IV
  • Jax
  • Karma
  • Karthus
  • Kog’Maw
  • Leona
  • Lucian
  • Lulu
  • Lux
  • Master Yi
  • Miss Fortune
  • Morgana
  • Neeko
  • Pantheon
  • Renekton
  • Sejuani
  • Seraphine
  • Shen
  • Sion
  • Sona
  • Swain
  • Taric
  • Tryndamere
  • Veigar
  • Vi
  • Volibear
  • Warwick
  • Wukong
  • Xin Zhao
  • Zac
  • Ziggs

Tier 3: Intermediate

Description: Champions that are still generally mechanically simple, but have some nuance to their kits that add a level of skill expression. Playstyle is more flexible and perhaps a bit more unique.

Recommended elos: High Silver through Platinum. Also can be effective in Diamond and above.


  • Ahri
  • Cassiopeia
  • Corki
  • Ekko
  • Elise
  • Ezreal
  • Fiora
  • Fizz
  • Gragas
  • Graves
  • Kai’Sa
  • Kassadin
  • Kayn
  • Kennen
  • Kha’Zix
  • Lissandra
  • Nami
  • Ornn
  • Poppy
  • Pyke
  • Rakan
  • Rek’Sai
  • Sett
  • Talon
  • Twitch
  • Varus
  • Vayne
  • Vel’Koz
  • Viktor
  • Xayah
  • Xerath
  • Zilean

Tier 4: Intermediate-Plus

Description: Mechanically simple champions but their playstyle is completely unique to others, meaning it must be learned. Success often relies on advanced principles, such as vision control, macro, or has high snowball reliance. Tend to be champions that have a very niche playstyle.

Recommended elos: Gold through Diamond. Can be effective above Diamond. Can also be effective in Silver if the player has mastered the champion’s kit and/or opposing players are unable to deal with the unique playstyle.


  • Anivia
  • Aurelion Sol
  • Evelynn
  • Fiddlesticks
  • Gnar
  • Heimerdinger
  • Illaoi
  • Ivern
  • Jayce
  • Jhin
  • Kalista
  • Kayle
  • Kled
  • Mordekaiser
  • Quinn
  • Rengar
  • Rumble
  • Ryze
  • Shaco
  • Singed
  • Tahm Kench
  • Taliyah
  • Twisted Fate
  • Urgot
  • Vladimir
  • Yorick
  • Yuumi
  • Zyra

Tier 5: Advanced

Description: Mechanically advanced champions. Their playstyle may be flexible and is not dissimilar to simpler champions, but the high skillcap means they are more difficult to learn and less forgiving to mistakes.

Recommended elos: Platinum and above. Can be effective in Gold and Platinum if players have a sufficient number of games on the champion and have mastered kit’s nuances.


  • Aatrox
  • Bard
  • Caitlyn
  • Draven
  • Kindred
  • Leblanc
  • Orianna
  • Senna
  • Sylas
  • Syndra
  • Thresh
  • Yone
  • Zed

Tier 6: Expert

Description: Mechanically complex champions who also often have very unique playstyles. Playstyle may also be more niche and require advanced knowledge of specific concepts and mechanics in order to succeed. Highest skillcap and often have very intricate kits with many nuances players must master to maximize effectiveness.

Recommended elos: Diamond and above. Can be effective in Platinum if players have a sufficient number of games on the champion and have mastered kit’s nuances.


  • Akali
  • Aphelios
  • Azir
  • Camille
  • Gangplank
  • Irelia
  • Katarina
  • Lee Sin
  • Lillia
  • Nidalee
  • Qiyana
  • Riven
  • Samira
  • Yasuo
  • Zoe

Next. Ranking All the Best Yasuo Skins. dark

Let us know which champion we rated too easy (or too difficult) on our tier list in the comments and tell us who you think are the easiest and hardest champions in League of Legends!